Social Media

Social Media Revolution…. Check out this short video

Social networking – links, articles – http://files.meetup.com/1320762/Social%20Networking.doc

·         LinkedIn

o         Ten Ways to Use LinkedIn to Find a Job – http://blog.guykawasaki.com/2009/02/10-ways-to-use.html

o         A Top 10. The best job search groups on LinkedIn – http://blog.spinstrategy.com/2009/03/a-top-10-the-best-job-search-groups-on-linkedin-.html

o         LinkedIn Job Search groups. After you join – http://blog.spinstrategy.com/2009/03/linkedin-job-search-groups-after-you-join-.html

o         LinkedIn green jobs – http://www.linkedin.com/groupsDirectory?results=&sik=1236271681476

o         Bad news for workers is good news for LinkedIn - http://www.rickwhittington.com/blog/layoffs-unemployment-and-the-promise-of-social-networking/   (by Rick Whittington)

·         Facebook

o         Ten Ways to use Facebook to find a job – http://blog.sironaconsulting.com/sironasays/2009/03/ten-ways-to-use-facebook-to-find-a-job.html

o         RichmondJobNet – http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/group.php?gid=62181738720

o         Virginia Career Network – http://www.facebook.com/group.php?sid=155e56a232eb316c61d691faaa9b215e&gid=45177539717

o         Linking The Laid Off – http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=33270034268

·         Twitter

o         Twitter benefits – http://files.meetup.com/1320762/Twitter%20benefits.doc (by Daulton West)

o         50 Twitter Users to Follow for Your Job Search – http://www.onedayonejob.com/blog/50-twitter-users-to-follow-for-your-job-search/

o         The Future for Twitter is all Search – http://www.marketingtwo.net/profiles/blogs/the-future-for-twitter-is-all

o         Job Sites and Career Experts on Twitter – http://alisondoyle.typepad.com/alison_doyle/2009/03/top-job-sites-and-career-experts-on-twitter.html

o         Find people to follow on Twitter – http://www.twellow.com/

o         85 Twitter Tools – http://www.thedailyanchor.com/2009/02/17/85-twitter-tools/

o         100 Twitter Tools to Help You Achieve Your Goals – http://www.sociableblog.com/2009/03/18/100-twitter-tools-to-help-you-achieve-all-your-goals/

 

·         About.com: Job Searching – http://jobsearch.about.com/

o         Job Search and Career Networking Tips – http://jobsearch.about.com/od/networking/a/networkingtips.htm

o         Top Social Media Sites for Job Searching – http://jobsearch.about.com/od/networkingsites/a/networkingsites.htm

o         How to Use Social Media in Your Job Search – http://jobsearch.about.com/od/networking/a/socialmedia.htm

o         How to Use LinkedIn to Job Search – http://jobsearch.about.com/od/networking/a/linkedin2.htm

o         Job Searching on Twitter (Twitter Overview)http://jobseauser=1t1l4a8fdpka8&xn_auth=norch.about.com/od/networkingsites/p/twitter.htm

o         Job Search Keywords - http://jobsearch.about.com/od/jobsearchglossary/f/keywords.htm

 

 

·         Social networking sites a tool for businesses – http://www.timesdispatch.com/rtd/business/local/metrobusiness/article/IRIS02_20090130-233915/193881/

·         SUCCESSWERKS - Nhat Pham (aka Social Media Samurai) - http://www.successwerks.com/about.html
·         Five reasons to Twitter, LinkedIn, or Facebook: The new PR - hing) - http://www.examiner.com/x-809-Publicity-Examiner~y2009m3d13-Five-reasons-to-Twitter-LinkedIn-or-Facebook-The-new-PR
·         The Importance of Social Networking - http://www.resumebucketblog.com/resumebucket/join-our-groups-follow-us-on-twitter/
·         Five Reasons To Start Your Own Social Networking Site  - http://www.johnchow.com/five-reasons-to-start-your-own-social-networking-site/
·         How to use social networking sites to boost business -   http://smallbusiness.officelive.com/ResourceCenter/expertadvice/onlinemarketing/How_to_use_social_networking_sites_to_boost_business  

·         Using Social Networks for Social Change – http://rootwork.org/blog/2008/10/using-social-networks-social-change-facebook-myspace-more  

·         Marketing 2.0 – http://www.marketingtwo.net/

·         Update all your social network profiles at once – http://ping.fm/

 

Job transition / career information

·         30+ Websites to Visit When You’re Laid Off –     http://mashable.com/2009/02/19/laid-off-sites/  

·         10 NING Networks to Help You Land Your Next Job -  http://mashable.com/2009/03/02/ning-job-networks/  
·         Top 10 Social Sites for Finding a Job -               http://mashable.com/2009/02/24/top-10-social-sites-for-finding-a-job/
·         Richmond JobNet - http://www.richmondjobnet.com/index.php
·         Career Prospectors - http://www.career-prospectors.com/

·         Career Management of Virginia (Bud Whitehouse) – http://www.cmvacareers.com

·         Virginia Career Network - http://www.meetup.com/Virginia-Career-Network/

·         Virginia Workforce Connection – https://www.vawc.virginia.gov/

·         ResumeBucket: Store a copy of your resume online. It is easy to do – http://jobsearch.about.com/b/2009/03/15/resumebucket.htm

·         Linking the Laid Off - http://mylinkingpowerforum.ning.com/group/LinkingTheLaidOff
·         Jobs In Social Media  - http://socialmediajobs.ning.com/
·         New Media Hire - http://www.newmediahire.com/

·         Henrico Will Open Employment Transition Centerhttp://www.timesdispatch.com/rtd/news/local/article/HEN22_20090221-234409/212685/

·         Navigating Through Hard Times Resource Guide (United Way)http://www.yourunitedway.org/media/UW-ResourceGuide_F.pdf

·         Monitoring your reputation online - http://www.rickwhittington.com/blog/the-importance-of-monitoring-your-reputation-online/ (by Rick Whittington)
·         Google your name and see where your name appears – you might be surprised
·         Fee business cards - http://www.vistaprint.com/

March 20, 2009 | by Daulton West, Jr.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: